MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commerce Level 3 Courses commie6666 Academics 2 09-20-2011 11:04 PM
Can business level 1 student take commerce 2XX3 courses? littlewood Academics 3 07-09-2011 10:28 AM
Limit to Lower Level Courses in Upper Years MichaelScarn Academics 11 06-13-2011 11:37 PM
can i take upper level courses? coco Academics 5 11-12-2008 04:02 PM

Can I take upper level calculus courses as a Commerce student?

Old 11-08-2015 at 11:40 AM   #1
Pattern

Liked: 0 Times

Can I take upper level calculus courses as a Commerce student?
I'm in my third year for Commerce and was curious as to how I would go about taking advanced calculus courses. The only prerequisites I have are Math 1M03 and Stats 1L03. With these courses it seems I can only take Science Calc (I & II) or Life Science Calc (I & II), which I'm not sure as a business student would help me very much. What is the best route for someone in my position wanting to learn multivariable calculus applicable to business/economics?

Thanks in advance.
Old 11-08-2015 at 06:29 PM   #2
topkek

Liked: 23 Times

1M03 is just a watered down version 1A03. If you want to take upper year math courses, you'll need 1A/1AA or 1X/1XX.

Pattern says thanks to topkek for this post.
Old 11-08-2015 at 07:23 PM   #3
Pattern

Liked: 0 Times

Thanks for the information! I looked into it further and it says 1M03 can actually be used as a prerequisite for Math 1AA3. However, 1X/1XX is restricted to students registered in math and statistics. Not sure if you took 1A/1AA, but do you know how relevant the courses would be to a business student?
Old 11-08-2015 at 08:49 PM   #4
Moghue

Liked: 17 Times

They won't be relevant.

Pattern says thanks to Moghue for this post.
Old 11-08-2015 at 09:34 PM   #5
topkek

Liked: 23 Times

A good grasp of mathematics is always good for a business student.
Old 11-09-2015 at 01:59 AM   #6
Imperious

Liked: 27 Times