mech eng 4T03 zali1234 Academics 0 08-31-2011 10:43 AM
Mech Eng conflict - required courses. Kurt_ Academics 3 08-09-2010 08:08 PM
Comp Sci/Comp Eng/Soft Eng stevennevets Academics 9 10-19-2009 08:54 PM

comp enineering VS mech

Old 05-25-2012 at 12:51 AM   #1
Kevinabrahak

Liked: 8 Times

comp enineering VS mech
Hey, i am a second year student at MAC and currently registered for computer engineering. However, i was greatly looking forward to getting into Mechanical Engineering ( not so important !!)

I was just wondering, for all those computer engineers out there, is computer Eng all about programming or at least for the most part ?? the weird thing is that im not really good with programming but I do know quite a bit of it . Could someone help me out understand the real deal about computer engineering as opposed to software engineering.

I am having second thoughts about talking with the engineering staff about switching fields to Mechanical if I could. In terms of job prospects, what's recommended. Would really appreciate it.

thanks
Old 05-25-2012 at 08:01 AM   #2
blackdragon
Elite Member

Liked: 339 Times

Not at all.

You can take a look at the undergraduate calender - it is basically like electrical engineering... meaning you will be taking majority of electrical courses and only a handful of pure programming courses (3 if i remember correctly.. 2sh4, 2si4, 3k04...)
Old 05-25-2012 at 11:40 AM   #3
Ownaginatios
Trolling ain't easy

Liked: 1,656 Times

Software engineering is more about how to write good programs as opposed to just programming. There is a lot of focus on theory and mathematics behind writing precise programs, and not a lot of actual programming work to be honest, lol.