MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone else having trouble studying jeboi7 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 17 01-11-2011 07:25 PM
Late night studying KristaG Academics 23 12-08-2010 04:05 AM
EWB Weekly Engagement Night: Intro To Effective Aid! mlangille MacInsiders Announcements 0 02-22-2010 11:35 PM
Studying on Campus Chad MacInsiders Announcements 1 12-08-2008 09:24 PM
Studying Methods sycoman Academics 2 09-15-2008 04:44 PM

Effective ways of studying - Help!

Old 02-07-2011 at 10:28 PM   #1
R_21

Liked: 2 Times

Effective ways of studying - Help!
Hi people,

So my name's Robbyn and i'm a first year student @ Mac. I'm actually having trouble studying for tests/exams and I decided to get opinions from others as to how to study more effectively. Basically whenever I study, I have a hard time memorizing the material and when I finally do manage to memorize somewhat, I blank out during the time of my exam.

Normally I write notes and reread them over and over again and then try to recite the content without looking at it but it doesn't seem to work for me.

I'd appreciate it if I could get a couple of opinions from other students as to how to study more effectively and to learn different methods of studying.

Thanks
Old 02-07-2011 at 10:31 PM   #2
Rakim
Account Locked

Liked: 814 Times

Hey Robbyn,

Most people have a hard time adjusting into first year, so dont worry too much.

I think the best method of studying is reviewing your lecture notes right after class, that way you dont have to learn everything the day before the midterm.

Im not sure what else to say without getting cliche, perhaps consulting the CSD (which is in Mac) for advice might be a good idea?

Best of luck

justinsftw, Mepper, R_21 all say thanks to Rakim for this post.
Old 02-07-2011 at 10:34 PM   #3
Mepper

Liked: 71 Times

WHOAAA. Rakim making a helpful post?! Did his account get hacked? What has the world come to T.T