MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elective sam19090 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 2 06-29-2010 08:16 PM
elective!! ishk33 Academics 3 08-14-2009 04:15 PM
Which elective? suhaybh First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 09-03-2008 12:28 PM
Elective Help? Ruggedman Academics 2 07-03-2008 04:07 PM
Elective HELP! deone Academics 5 06-26-2008 09:19 AM

elective selection help

Old 06-30-2009 at 09:05 AM   #1
sunny

Liked: Liked 6 Times

elective selection help
Hey guys, I am a second year kinesiology student, and I plan to apply for dentistry after completing my undergrad. According to the prerequisite requirements from dental schools, they need one organic chemistry course and a biochem course. So the courses I should be taking for second year include the 6 compulsory kinesiology courses, along with 2 biology (2A03, 2B03) courses, biochem 2EE3, and organic chem 2A03. So, apart from the bio courses, do you think it is advisable to take the org chem and biochem this year, while potentially putting my gpa at risk, due to all of my courses' level of difficulty? Or is it better to take alternative electives lower in intensity just to keep my gpa high? The alternative courses i was thinking of include the 2 biology courses, and instead anthro 1Z03 , and another one I'm still thinking about. I was thinking of the taking the organic chem and biochemistry courses next summer, BUT, do professional schools even count summer courses as a means to fulfill their prerequisite requirements? I will be very grateful for your advice.
Old 06-30-2009 at 10:33 AM   #2
Lois
Elite Member

Liked: 361 Times

Biochemistry is really easy if you memorize everything he wants you to memorize. "Know this chart, know all the enzymes and reactions".

Biology 2B03 is also very easy. Biology 2A03 is more difficult, but it's interesting.