MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failed 1st year class.. lucyg Academics 4 05-23-2014 11:47 PM
Retaking a failed course next year? Rigoroso Academics 2 04-06-2012 12:59 PM
Failed 1st year Math 1Za3 and physics adeeb First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 20 01-04-2012 11:11 PM
I failed a compulsory first year course... zorattiMatt Academics 7 06-27-2011 11:36 PM
Failed out of my Honours program in third year pogy Academics 3 01-30-2011 10:39 PM

Failed a first year course

Old 02-06-2017 at 02:24 AM   #1
arhem345

Liked: 0 Times

Failed a first year course
I'm in first year commerce and i just finished first semester.

I took university very lightly because in hs i didnt study much and still managed to maintain high 80s. I realized the hard way that uni is very different. Anyways, I failed CALC 1F03 and I got 2 D's in other courses. All in all, my average right now is 59, which is 4 percent below the average i need to make it to second year (63-66) which is a 5.0. I did the math and that means i need to get a 70 average this semester to maintain a 5. Also, i left my calc exam 90% blank because I actually felt sick and they did not let me rewrite it because they are very strict about rewriting exams so yeah that sucked but it is what it is - i dont think i would have failed if i got the chance of rewriting but thats over so now im focusing on the future. I just have a couple of questions:

1. I will need to take 2 summer school courses because i need to make up for the math 1F03 i failed and not doing math 1M03 this semester because 1F03 was a prereq. How much do summer school courses cost and are they easier/harder/around the same?