MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CA Designation Courses jenn_y Academics 2 03-26-2010 10:57 AM
Commerce Students All YEARS - Career Field Experience in HR Alison Volunteering Opportunities 5 01-21-2010 02:54 PM
Are Yr1 Commerce students allowed to take Math 1A03? melodicdream First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 8 08-28-2009 12:13 AM
IRIS: A Drama Production by Students for Students lorend First Year Success 0 06-06-2008 02:57 PM

Help - getting a CA designation, any commerce students here?

Old 04-20-2009 at 03:21 PM   #1
Kevin

Liked: 1 Time

Help - getting a CA designation, any commerce students here?
Hey guys so I'm confused a little right now. I'm in 2nd year commerce right now, and I'm thinking of being an accountant and getting a CA designation. So I was looking ahead at the courses I should take, and this is the list of classes that I need to take. http://www.degroote.mcmaster .ca/MBA/documents/CA.pdf. So on that list, I still need to take three level 3 commerce courses and ten level 4 commerce courses, of which only 1 (3FA3) is a compulsory course in completing an honours commerce degree. So that is 12 commerce electives I need. For my year 3, I only get 6 units of commerce electives and year 4 I only get 15 units, meaning combined that is only 7 commerce elective courses I can take. I need those 12 commerce electives on the list, but have only 7 spots...does this mean I would need to stay longer then 4 years at mac? Does anybody here have experience with this and can help me? Thanks
Old 04-20-2009 at 04:09 PM   #2
FireDragoonX
Elite Member

Liked: 142 Times

what are the requirements for commerce? there should be overlap in the required commerce courses for accounting and the courses you need for a CA.

contact a commerce academic advisor.
Old 04-20-2009 at 06:52 PM   #3
JeffB

Liked: 26 Times