MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Meal plan for international exchange student gallagherorla Bates Forum 9 03-11-2014 07:17 AM
Grad Student looking for Accommodation aliceglen Off-Campus Housing (SOCS) 2 06-05-2011 09:45 PM
Becoming International Student Infinity General Discussion 2 11-19-2009 11:12 PM
International Student Volunteers swissformula General Discussion 20 11-05-2009 09:08 PM
Co-op for international student? mikefung Academics 1 06-06-2008 10:51 PM

International PhD student looking for accommodation

Old 07-07-2014 at 08:21 AM   #1
ssharma

Liked: 0 Times

International PhD student looking for accommodation
Hi!

I am an international student from India joining Mac as a PhD student this fall and looking for off-campus accommodation. As I do not know anyone in Hamilton I am seeking help through this forum. I am looking for a quiet, clean place closer to Mac with a little freedom/privacy. What would be the expected rent? What is better a room in a landlord's house or an individual apartment? Would it be wise to start with a month or two of sublet and then look for a more permanent place? I am also open to sharing a two bedroom accommodation with someone, if possible.
Please bear with my barrage of questions and help in my house hunting.
Old 07-07-2014 at 12:30 PM   #2
nikJ

Liked: 85 Times

Expected rent can be anywhere from $300 - $500. Generally rent is $300 or $350 for a basement or if the house is far off from the campus. Having stayed in the basement a couple times, I would highly recommend against it as it's damp and laden with bugs. Again, this may not always be the case, but after speaking to a number of people, I've come to this conclusion. There are more expensive basement rooms with rent ranging from $400-$450, which are definitely nicer and cleaner.