MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Medical Radiation Science Vs Medical Physics and Applied Radiation Sciences Kajee First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 5 10-24-2011 09:02 AM
Fellow Medical Physics Students? ConfusedTaco Academics 0 09-12-2011 09:15 AM
Medical Physics Courses? MirandaC First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 7 04-24-2011 10:50 PM
Level 2 -- Honours Medical Physics MedPhys First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 02-18-2011 04:07 PM
Astrophysics? Medical Physics? Honours Physics? Engineering? Which to choose? tammy37 Academics 9 05-14-2009 02:11 AM

Medical Physics questions

Old 12-05-2011 at 12:23 AM   #1
RadiantL

Liked: 1 Time

Medical Physics questions
Hi, I'm in first year life sci and considering medical physics for my level 2, and I'm just trying to hit as many courses as I can in first year. Unfortunately I am going to have to take physics 1BB3 or 1BA3 in the summer because I took physics 1L03. Anyway according to the program notes it says CHEM 1AA3 completion is recommended because it serves as a pre-requisite for CHEM 2OA3 but I don't see CHEM 2OA3 as one of the courses needed by the end of level 4.

So question is, do I need to take CHEM 1AA3?
Old 12-05-2011 at 06:58 AM   #2
rlevitin
MacInsiders Street Team

Liked: 24 Times

Hey, the Medical Physics program just changed their curriculum around quite a lot so that there is more freedom in the course selection process, and more focus throughout the program (a good thing imo!)

According to the new program listed on their website, organic chem is no longer required.

If you want to be extra-certain, the person to contact is Nicholas Bock, the undergraduate chair. He'll be able to tell you the final word.

The note is probably there for those who are considering medical school or need organic chemistry for some graduate work -- which is something you should consider.

Last edited by rlevitin : 12-05-2011 at 07:01 AM.