MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kinesiology I UH2010 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 11 12-31-2010 03:01 PM
Switching to Kinesiology from Commerce andrewjdg First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 3 08-02-2010 02:54 PM
Kinesiology hello395 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 7 08-17-2008 05:02 PM
kinesiology shreya s. First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 3 06-26-2008 05:14 PM

switching into kinesiology

Old 02-10-2011 at 08:41 PM   #1
sana.banana

Liked: 0 Times

switching into kinesiology
Hi everybody,
I am in first year life sci with a dream of ending up in med school after 4 years (like many other first years ).
I want to switch into Kinesiology. On the website, first years have to take 6 mandatory courses (i have taken 2, and was thinking of taking the other 4 over the summer). but before i think of doing that, is it possible for me to switch into kin?

and this might be a dumb question, but when u switch into a different program, how is ur gpa calculated? are the courses u took in the previous program (life sci) considered as electives? or a new gpa is calculated???

I wish i had applied for the kin program in high school, i could have so easily got in, but meh
Old 02-10-2011 at 09:22 PM   #2
Jamalf

Liked: 49 Times

i doubt kin courses are offered in the summer, so you have to switch into kin in septemeber and basically be in 1st year all over again
Old 02-10-2011 at 09:25 PM   #3
~*Sara*~
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 624 Times

I'm pretty sure you'd have to repeat first year with the exception of courses that are anti-requisites which you've already done. I think Bio and Math would be the same. But other than that, you don't have any of the required courses and the Kin courses (that I know of) are not offered in the summer, so you would have to start in first year Kin in September. I would go to the Kin department to ask though, or to the Associate Dean's office (BSB-129)